23 May 2019

On May 15th-16th Vice-rector for scientific and pedagogic work, international affairs and technical support of Sumy State University Volodymyr Lyubchak and senior lecturer of the Department of Germanic Philology, director of the Center of Ukrainian-Polish cooperation Iryna Ushapovska presented SumDU on the XX meeting of Consortium of Ukrainian universities and University of Warsaw. The event took place at Ternopil Volodymyr Hnatyuk National Pedagogical University.

There were distinguished representatives of the universities from different parts of Ukraine present at the event. Polish party was presented by the rector-signor of Warsaw University Katarzyna Chałasińska-Macukow, Jan Malicki, permanent substitute of the Head of Consortium, and representatives of the Centre for East European Studies of University of Warsaw and Eastern Department of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Poland.

During the meeting Ukrainian researchers were awarded with Ivan Vyhovskyi certificates under the patronage of Republic of Poland in the sphere of human sciences, scholarship programs for training, internship and research practice on the base of University of Warsaw, NAWA and PROM programs. The proposals were raised regarding conducting open lectures of Ukrainian universities and Warsaw University Consortium professors.

On May 16th the meeting participants and guests from Jelenia Góra took part in the International scientific and practical conference “Perspectives of Ukrainian-Polish cooperation” dedicated to 15th anniversary of Poland’s accession to the EU and 20th anniversary of its NATO membership. The conference took place with the support of Ukrainian-Polish partnership forum, General Consulate of Republic of Poland in Lutsk, Centre for East European Studies of the University of Warsaw.

Consortium of Ukrainian universities and Warsaw University was created on April 12th 2006 on the initiative of the Centre for East European Studies of the University of Warsaw (pol. Studium Europy Wschodniej Uniwersytetu Warszawskiego). As of today, the Consortium consists of 15 member universities.

Consortium activity is aimed at support of cooperation among Warsaw University and Ukrainian universities, experience exchange within academic mobility of scientific staff and students, implementation of joint projects, promotion of scientific research development in the Eastern and Central Europe region.

Consortium members:

  • University of Warsaw
  • Sumy State University
  • Ternopil Volodymyr Hnatyuk National Pedagogical University
  • Yuriy Fedkovych Chernivtsi National University
  • Vasyl Stefanyk Precarpathian National University
  • Kamianets-Podilskyi Ivan Ohiienko National University
  • Lesya Ukrainka Eastern European National University
  • The National University of Ostroh Academy
  • Zhytomyr Ivan Franko State University
  • Rivne State University of Humanities
  • Ukrainian Catholic University
  • National University of “Kyiv-Mohyla Academy”
  • V.N. Karazin Kharkiv National University
  • Odessa I.I. Mechnikov National University
  • South Ukrainian K.D. Ushynskyi National Pedagogical University.